Afghanistan: Self-Immolation by Women Still Common – TIME

Fawzia felt like she had no way out. Married off to her cousin at age 16, she had been beaten routinely by her husband and in-law

via Afghanistan: Self-Immolation by Women Still Common – TIME.

As a homeschooling daughter I bought in to the extreme teachings I heard even more than my parents did. I have only recently found the internal freedom of owning my soul, of belonging to myself and myself alone. In no way was my situation like the one in Afghanistan, to say so would be seriously belittling. A part of my heart though, recognizes the same soul-sucking powerlessness of patriarchy.

About soffiasoul

Woman, wife, mother of daughters, expat, former fundamentalist, reader and bunny-trailer par excellence. I dream of taking women's studies and becoming a women's health nurse, among other things :-)
This entry was posted in Articles and Links and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

