Nate Phelps Story

At the age of 7, I could recite all 66 books of the Bible in 19 seconds.  My father insisted on this because he was frustrated at waiting as his children flipped back and forth trying to find the verses he was preaching from. Afterwards, if one of us took too long my father would stop in the middle of his preaching, cast a gimlet eye on the offender and demand that,  “Somebody smack that kid!”

via Nate Phelps. **trigger warning**

I resonated so much with Nate Phelps story. The journey he describes of extricating himself from toxic christianity is so familiar to me. I am not as far down the path, I am at the point where I really struggle with what my kids are learning at church and am nervous that they will be attending a christian school this year. Sigh. Thankfully, my husband and I are on the same page regarding fundamentalism and we have open communication about it as a family. This article makes me wonder where is my journey going? What choices do I have to make in these following years and what will be the outcome?

About soffiasoul

Woman, wife, mother of daughters, expat, former fundamentalist, reader and bunny-trailer par excellence. I dream of taking women's studies and becoming a women's health nurse, among other things :-)
This entry was posted in Abuse Recovery, Articles and Links and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

