It Wasn’t

Brief housekeeping here: I promise not every post will be about abuse This one is though, you’ve been warned ;-P

Last night I awoke to the sound of screaming. I thought it was in my house. I thought it was one of my kids. I jumped out of bed and realized that it was coming from next door. I looked out the window and 10 yards away in the neighboring apartment was a woman leaning out the window. A man was pulling her arm, she was squealing and fighting to get away, a 3rd story window the only escape.

Rewind a little, my imagination is very vivid so before I jump to too many conclusions I am going to frame this in the most positive light I can.

It could have all started as a playful game and a beer or two. Uninhibited and unaware of the noise they were making at 4am on the kitchen porch, she could have been grandstanding, (it is a cultural thing here) when she thew herself toward the window. His strong arming her in could have been about protecting her from a fall. The glass bottle that broke could have fallen unintentionally. The scuffling, muffled cries and thumps could have been the woman burying her head in her lovers chest and letting off some emotional steam.

It really could have happened that way. But it didn’t, did it?

About soffiasoul

Woman, wife, mother of daughters, expat, former fundamentalist, reader and bunny-trailer par excellence. I dream of taking women's studies and becoming a women's health nurse, among other things :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

