Americas healthiest pleasures: 10 vices that are good for you – CNN.com

Turns out, many of lifes greatest indulgences bring big health benefits — helping you stay slim, fight off the blues, and kick disease to the curb.

via Americas healthiest pleasures: 10 vices that are good for you – CNN.com.

Growing up I was taught that denying myself and giving beyond comfort was godly and that anything less was shameful and lazy.

We were not permited to be tired or hungry or needy. Fasting, pain, exaustion were fuel for the spirit and the building of character.

It is true that struggle can strengthen the soul but not having your basic needs met just leads to burnout. Ask me how I know 🙂

I now believe that tending to the needs of my body/mind/soul and modeling it for my children is the best “character training” I  could give them.

About soffiasoul

Woman, wife, mother of daughters, expat, former fundamentalist, reader and bunny-trailer par excellence. I dream of taking women's studies and becoming a women's health nurse, among other things :-)
This entry was posted in Articles and Links, Expat Life, Homeschool Memoirs, My Healing Soul and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

